RSS iconTwitter iconFacebook icon

The Trek BBS title image

The Trek BBS statistics

Threads: 147,040
Posts: 5,802,883
Members: 26,061
Currently online: 450
Newest member: Ulvirfaust

TrekToday headlines

Retro Review: Learning Curve
By: Michelle on Jul 31

Star Trek: The Exhibition In Washington State
By: T'Bonz on Jul 31

August-September 2015 Trek Conventions And Appearances
By: T'Bonz on Jul 31

Shatner To Pen Book On Nimoy
By: T'Bonz on Jul 31

Star Trek Beyond Building Continues
By: T'Bonz on Jul 31

Trinneer In Western Horror
By: T'Bonz on Jul 30

Beam Me Up Scotty Figurines
By: T'Bonz on Jul 30

UK Auction To Feature Spock Costume
By: T'Bonz on Jul 30

Pine To Star In Wonder Woman
By: T'Bonz on Jul 29

Pegg Teases Elba Character
By: T'Bonz on Jul 29


Welcome! The Trek BBS is the number one place to chat about Star Trek with like-minded fans. Please login to see our full range of forums as well as the ability to send and receive private messages, track your favourite topics and of course join in the discussions.

If you are a new visitor, join us for free. If you are an existing member please login below. Note: for members who joined under our old messageboard system, please login with your display name not your login name.


Go Back   The Trek BBS > Entertainment & Interests > Science Fiction & Fantasy > Stargate

Stargate Sir, we can't call it the Enterprise forum.

 
 
Thread Tools
Old August 16 2008, 02:44 PM   #1
hxclespaulplayer
Commander
 
Atlantis ZPM question

How many are they running on at the moment, and out of the 3 maximum capacity, what function is each one responsible for?
__________________
"If you don't like something, don't watch it again. Why whinge about it on a forum to a load of divs? Don't worry about it." - Karl Pilkington.
hxclespaulplayer is offline  
Old August 16 2008, 03:01 PM   #2
Hermiod
Admiral
 
Hermiod's Avatar
 
Re: Atlantis ZPM question

hxclespaulplayer wrote: View Post
How many are they running on at the moment, and out of the 3 maximum capacity, what function is each one responsible for?
They have two but one of them is severely depleted. They had none when they acquired the three that the Replicators left behind. One of those went to the Odyssey and another went to the SGC to power the Ancient Outpost.

The one they kept was severely depleted after "First Strike" but they managed to steal another from the Replicators.

The ZPMs are connected to the city's power grid in a room with slots for three. There's no indication that they power different systems individually.
Hermiod is offline  
Old August 16 2008, 04:35 PM   #3
hxclespaulplayer
Commander
 
Re: Atlantis ZPM question

Hermiod wrote: View Post
hxclespaulplayer wrote: View Post
How many are they running on at the moment, and out of the 3 maximum capacity, what function is each one responsible for?
They have two but one of them is severely depleted. They had none when they acquired the three that the Replicators left behind. One of those went to the Odyssey and another went to the SGC to power the Ancient Outpost.

The one they kept was severely depleted after "First Strike" but they managed to steal another from the Replicators.

The ZPMs are connected to the city's power grid in a room with slots for three. There's no indication that they power different systems individually.
Can Atlantis function with only one ZPM? I remember from "before i sleep" that the 3 ZPMs' had to be used sequentially rather than in parallel in order to keep the shields up for 10,000 years, IIRC. So it isn't as clear-cut as with 1 ZPM, you have shields, with 2 you have shields + cloak/weapons, etc?
__________________
"If you don't like something, don't watch it again. Why whinge about it on a forum to a load of divs? Don't worry about it." - Karl Pilkington.
hxclespaulplayer is offline  
Old August 16 2008, 05:08 PM   #4
Hermiod
Admiral
 
Hermiod's Avatar
 
Re: Atlantis ZPM question

^Atlantis can function just fine with one under normal circumstances. They also have a series of naquahdah generators augmenting their power supply.

Atlantis can power its shield and fire drones at the same time with one ZPM, you just run the battery down faster.

The city is not designed, however, to travel through hyperspace with only a single ZPM.
Hermiod is offline  
Old August 16 2008, 06:27 PM   #5
Nedersong
Captain
 
Re: Atlantis ZPM question

I'd like to see Atlantis with the full three ZPMs and to see it at full capacity.
Nedersong is offline  
Old August 17 2008, 10:27 AM   #6
Hermiod
Admiral
 
Hermiod's Avatar
 
Re: Atlantis ZPM question

I made a mistake in replying to this before watching "Ghost in the Machine". They clearly say the ZPM (singular) multiple times in the episode. I guess the old one must have been completely drained.
Hermiod is offline  
Old August 17 2008, 01:37 PM   #7
Chemahkuu
Admiral
 
Chemahkuu's Avatar
 
Location: United Kingdom
Re: Atlantis ZPM question

Yeah they probably used up the one used to power the Hyperdrive at the beginning of season 4, it wouldn't have had much power left at that point, easier to use it up then switch to using the stolen Asuran one.
__________________
"But there's no sense crying over every mistake. You just keep on trying till you run out of cake."
Chemahkuu is online now  
Old August 22 2008, 03:27 PM   #8
FordSVT
Vice Admiral
 
FordSVT's Avatar
 
Location: Atlantic Canada
Re: Atlantis ZPM question

Nedersong wrote: View Post
I'd like to see Atlantis with the full three ZPMs and to see it at full capacity.
Would have made SG-1's Ori arc pretty frigging short.
__________________
-FordSVT-
FordSVT is offline  
Old August 22 2008, 04:05 PM   #9
Brent
Admiral
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Location: TARDIS
Send a message via ICQ to Brent Send a message via AIM to Brent Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Brent
Re: Atlantis ZPM question

Hermiod wrote: View Post

The city is not designed, however, to travel through hyperspace with only a single ZPM.
Yet, it can do it just fine apparently (when not damaged)
__________________
"Would you mind not standing on my chest? My hat's on fire." - The Doctor

My Let's Play Series of STO - http://www.youtube.com/user/JustGaming4Us
Brent is offline  
Old August 22 2008, 07:25 PM   #10
Chemahkuu
Admiral
 
Chemahkuu's Avatar
 
Location: United Kingdom
Re: Atlantis ZPM question

Brent wrote: View Post
Hermiod wrote: View Post

The city is not designed, however, to travel through hyperspace with only a single ZPM.
Yet, it can do it just fine apparently (when not damaged)
Rodney had to rewrite an entire section of the operating system so that Atlantis would "ignore" the fact it only had one ZPM and had to ignore all other portions of the code for the operation potentially allowing hundreds/thousands of things to go wrong, which it did, and it was only the Deus Ex Machina of stealing a new ZPM that saved them.

They managed, but its not something they should have done, or should ever attempt again.
__________________
"But there's no sense crying over every mistake. You just keep on trying till you run out of cake."
Chemahkuu is online now  
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:33 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
FireFox 2+ or Internet Explorer 7+ highly recommended.