RSS iconTwitter iconFacebook icon

The Trek BBS title image

The Trek BBS statistics

Threads: 139,546
Posts: 5,421,959
Members: 24,804
Currently online: 500
Newest member: comicstar100

TrekToday headlines

Retro Review: Tears of the Prophets
By: Michelle on Sep 12

New Wizkids Attack Wing Ships
By: T'Bonz on Sep 12

Coto Drama Sold To Fox
By: T'Bonz on Sep 12

Braga Inks Deal
By: T'Bonz on Sep 12

Remastered Original Series Re-release
By: T'Bonz on Sep 11

UK Trek Ships Calendar Debuts
By: T'Bonz on Sep 10

Quinto In The Slap
By: T'Bonz on Sep 9

Burton On Shatner’s Brown Bag Wine Tasting
By: T'Bonz on Sep 9

New Trek Trading Card Series
By: T'Bonz on Sep 8

New Red Shirt Diaries Episode
By: T'Bonz on Sep 8


Welcome! The Trek BBS is the number one place to chat about Star Trek with like-minded fans. Please login to see our full range of forums as well as the ability to send and receive private messages, track your favourite topics and of course join in the discussions.

If you are a new visitor, join us for free. If you are an existing member please login below. Note: for members who joined under our old messageboard system, please login with your display name not your login name.


Go Back   The Trek BBS > Entertainment & Interests > Science Fiction & Fantasy

Science Fiction & Fantasy Farscape, Babylon 5, Star Wars, Firefly, vampires, genre books and film.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old February 23 2014, 03:14 AM   #16
Ancient Mariner
Rear Admiral
 
Ancient Mariner's Avatar
 
Location: Sailing for adventure on the Big Blue Wet Thing™
View Ancient Mariner's Twitter Profile
Re: Science Fiction or Fantasy?

Dragonslayer blew my mind when I first saw it on HBO back in the 80s. I think it still holds up relatively well today, too.
__________________
Ancient Mariner is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 23 2014, 03:23 AM   #17
Greg Cox
Vice Admiral
 
Location: Oxford, PA
Re: Science Fiction or Fantasy?

Ancient Mariner wrote: View Post
Dragonslayer blew my mind when I first saw it on HBO back in the 80s. I think it still holds up relatively well today, too.
I confess I haven't seen it since it debuted in 1981, but I remember really liking it--and vastly preferring it to the original Clash of the Titans which came out the same summer.

And Vermithrax Perjorative is still the best name for a dragon ever.
__________________
www.gregcox-author.com
Greg Cox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23 2014, 03:25 AM   #18
Ancient Mariner
Rear Admiral
 
Ancient Mariner's Avatar
 
Location: Sailing for adventure on the Big Blue Wet Thing™
View Ancient Mariner's Twitter Profile
Re: Science Fiction or Fantasy?

I saw it again a few years ago and thought the design for Vermithrax Pejorative (agreed, great name) was fantastic. I'd have to watch it again, having seen the Desolation of Smaug to really compare the two. But what I think worked best for Dragonslayer was its convincing, yet low-budget (by today's standards) methods for conveying a world of fantasy and magic. It conveyed a gritty "realism" (a sense that it was a place where character really lived and struggled with their environment) that, in some ways, foreshadowed Braveheart and LOTR.
__________________
Ancient Mariner is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 23 2014, 03:35 AM   #19
Greg Cox
Vice Admiral
 
Location: Oxford, PA
Re: Science Fiction or Fantasy?

For a long time, Vermithrax was my second-favorite movie dragon, with first place going to the animated dragon at the end of Disney's Sleeping Beauty.

Which is another classic fantasy film now that I think of it . . . .
__________________
www.gregcox-author.com
Greg Cox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23 2014, 03:42 AM   #20
Gotham Central
Vice Admiral
 
Location: Chicago, IL
View Gotham Central's Twitter Profile
Re: Science Fiction or Fantasy?

Personally I prefer scifi. I'm mostly indifferent to fantasy.

For the record, Star Wars is actually Fantasy. Its basically a fantasy tale with scifi trappings. Gene Roddenberry was actually interested in ensuring that the tech he was showing was at least plausible. Conversely, Lucas was in no way concerned with the mechanics of the universe he was creating.

That Star Wars is more fantasy is probably why I prefered to watch Star Trek.
__________________
Well maybe I'm the faggot America.
I'm not a part of a redneck agenda.
Now everybody do the propaganda.
And sing along in the age of paranoia

Green Day
Gotham Central is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23 2014, 04:21 AM   #21
sidious618
Admiral
 
sidious618's Avatar
 
Location: New York, US
Send a message via AIM to sidious618
Re: Science Fiction or Fantasy?

I always saw Star Wars as some sort of a fairy tale (and I mean this in a good way- Star Wars kicks ass).
__________________
We've met before, haven't we?
sidious618 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 23 2014, 04:39 AM   #22
Greg Cox
Vice Admiral
 
Location: Oxford, PA
Re: Science Fiction or Fantasy?

sidious618 wrote: View Post
I always saw Star Wars as some sort of a fairy tale (and I mean this in a good way- Star Wars kicks ass).
Ditto. I consider Stars Wars a good old-fashioned swashbuckling adventure in the tradition of Robin Hood, King Arthur, and Edgar Rice Burroughs. And that's by no means a bad thing.

Is it "real" science fiction? Who cares? I don't worry about such distinctions. Space ships, dragons, werewolves . . . it's all good.
__________________
www.gregcox-author.com
Greg Cox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23 2014, 05:46 AM   #23
Nerys Myk
Fleet Admiral
 
Nerys Myk's Avatar
 
Location: House of Kang, now with ridges
Re: Science Fiction or Fantasy?

I mostly read Science Fiction, but on occasion dip into the Fantasy side of the pool. I read some Horror, mostly Stephan King.
__________________
The boring one, the one with Khan, the one where Spock returns, the one with whales, the dumb one, the last one, the one with Kirk, the one with the Borg, the stupid one, the bad one, the new one, the other one with Khan.
Nerys Myk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24 2014, 12:40 AM   #24
RAMA
Vice Admiral
 
RAMA's Avatar
 
Location: NJ, USA
Re: Science Fiction or Fantasy?

I like science fiction because it appeals to change, rationality, learning, thinking out of the box, thinking with a sense of wonder and because it is often the only fiction that is concerned with where we are going.

Fantasy doesn't appeal to me much except in the occasional entertainment factor, it doesn't really supply us with anything new. It appeals to the past, feudalism, nostalgia and doesn't demand much explanation. When magic is involved, rationality is not necessary, you can justify anything. What often happens is they replace common sense with arbitrary rules.

RAMA
__________________
It is far better to grasp the universe as it really is than to persist in delusion, however satisfying and reassuring. Carl Sagan
RAMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24 2014, 03:07 AM   #25
Greg Cox
Vice Admiral
 
Location: Oxford, PA
Re: Science Fiction or Fantasy?

RAMA wrote: View Post
I like science fiction because it appeals to change, rationality, learning, thinking out of the box, thinking with a sense of wonder and because it is often the only fiction that is concerned with where we are going.

Fantasy doesn't appeal to me much except in the occasional entertainment factor, it doesn't really supply us with anything new. It appeals to the past, feudalism, nostalgia and doesn't demand much explanation. When magic is involved, rationality is not necessary, you can justify anything. What often happens is they replace common sense with arbitrary rules.

RAMA
Ah, but who says that fiction or drama is supposed to promote rationality--or even appeal to the rational parts of our mind?

Much of the best art is about eliciting a visceral emotional response. Or catharsis if you want to be pretentious about it. Human beings are not inherently rational creatures, so why should our myths and stories be?

Then again, I'm probably a horror fan at my core--and there's nothing remotely rational about horror.
__________________
www.gregcox-author.com
Greg Cox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24 2014, 03:08 AM   #26
Yoda
Rear Admiral
 
Yoda's Avatar
 
Location: San Diego
Re: Science Fiction or Fantasy?

I have a preference for sci-fi and things without heavy supernatural elements, but I can enjoy both sci-fi and fantasy books, movies, and TV. No thanks on comic books though.
__________________
Yoda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24 2014, 07:37 AM   #27
JD
Admiral
 
JD's Avatar
 
Location: Arizona, USA
Re: Science Fiction or Fantasy?

When it comes to TV/Movies/Video Games I'm pretty equally a fan of both. But for reading ATM I'm really into fantasy, mostly it's been Contemporary Fantasy, but I'm working my way through A Song of Ice and Fire, and I plan on checking out some other epic fantasy like the Wheel of Time, Mistborn, and Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn and one or two other series. The only non-tie-in sci fi I've read at the moment is the first three The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy books, but I've got a whole bunch of others I want to read.
__________________
They say a little knowledge is a dangerous thing, but it is not one half so bad as a lot of ignorance. - Terry Pratchett, Equal Rites
JD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24 2014, 11:51 AM   #28
Runetouch
Lieutenant Commander
 
Runetouch's Avatar
 
Re: Science Fiction or Fantasy?

I generally prefer Sci-Fi over fantasy.
Runetouch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24 2014, 12:34 PM   #29
SPCTRE
Weltmeister
 
SPCTRE's Avatar
 
View SPCTRE's Twitter Profile
Re: Science Fiction or Fantasy?

Personally, that question feels to me like someone asking "Xbox or PlayStation" or "Currywurst or Doner Kebap" or "Hot Dog or Pizza".

I'll always be like "Uhm... BOTH?!"
__________________
"Santa brings presents and happiness, while I bring death and mild irritation."
- Ben "Leeroy Jenkins" Schulz
SPCTRE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24 2014, 12:35 PM   #30
CorporalCaptain
Admiral
 
CorporalCaptain's Avatar
 
Location: Kentucky
Re: Science Fiction or Fantasy?

On the question of semantics, science fiction is fantasy, but then again all fiction is fantasy, too. Of course, I know what you mean, generally, I think, or, well, sorta.

Back in the day (the 1970s), Star Wars was classified by Starlog columnists as science fantasy, a pretty reasonable split-the-difference nomenclature, actually. Go to teh wiki on science fantasy, and you'll find no mention of Star Wars, which is pretty unreasonable. Not in my mind a contradiction, because it's arguable either way, it's relatively recently that I've accepted Star Wars as science fiction, not so much that I've expanded my conception of what SF encompasses, but because I've recognized that the Force is really a science fiction concept; it's a double-standard to admit Dune with all of its mysticism and disqualify Star Wars for its.

That said, as a rule, I prefer descriptive over prescriptive definitions.

The Lord of the Rings is hands-down my favorite book(s) of all time, but statistically speaking I prefer science fiction more than (non-SF) fantasy.
__________________
John
CorporalCaptain is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:14 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
FireFox 2+ or Internet Explorer 7+ highly recommended.