RSS iconTwitter iconFacebook icon

The Trek BBS title image

The Trek BBS statistics

Threads: 138,255
Posts: 5,349,016
Members: 24,614
Currently online: 565
Newest member: robyn

TrekToday headlines

MicroWarriors Releases Next Week
By: T'Bonz on Jul 25

Ships Of The Line Design Contest
By: T'Bonz on Jul 25

Next Weekend: Shore Leave 36!
By: T'Bonz on Jul 25

True Trek History To Be Penned
By: T'Bonz on Jul 25

Insight Editions Announces Three Trek Books For 2015
By: T'Bonz on Jul 24

To Be Takei Review by Spencer Blohm
By: T'Bonz on Jul 24

Mulgrew: Playing Red
By: T'Bonz on Jul 24

Hallmark 2015 Trek Ornaments
By: T'Bonz on Jul 24

Funko Mini Spock
By: T'Bonz on Jul 23

IDW Publishing Comic Preview
By: T'Bonz on Jul 23


Welcome! The Trek BBS is the number one place to chat about Star Trek with like-minded fans. Please login to see our full range of forums as well as the ability to send and receive private messages, track your favourite topics and of course join in the discussions.

If you are a new visitor, join us for free. If you are an existing member please login below. Note: for members who joined under our old messageboard system, please login with your display name not your login name.


Go Back   The Trek BBS > Misc. Star Trek > Trek Literature

Trek Literature "...Good words. That's where ideas begin."

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old October 21 2013, 03:49 PM   #1
milo bloom
Fleet Captain
 
milo bloom's Avatar
 
Location: The varied and beautiful Chicagoland suburbs.
Day of Honor reading order?

Hello, couldn't find anything on this - I found the omnibus version of this the other day and was slightly puzzled at the order they're presented in the book. The TNG novel is first, then like DS9, then TOS, or something like that. Does it matter which order I read them in because I was expecting them to be in series order like the Invasion! series (TOS, TNG, DS9, VOY).

thanks
__________________
'Tis a lie! Thy backside is whole and ungobbled, thou ungrateful whelp!
milo bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21 2013, 03:57 PM   #2
Therin of Andor
Admiral
 
Therin of Andor's Avatar
 
Location: New Therin Park, Andor (via Australia)
View Therin of Andor's Twitter Profile
Re: Day of Honor reading order?

milo bloom wrote: View Post
Does it matter which order I read them
Not really.
__________________
Thiptho lapth! Ian (Entire post is personal opinion)
The Andor Files @ http://andorfiles.blogspot.com/
http://therinofandor.blogspot.com/
Therin of Andor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21 2013, 04:12 PM   #3
Christopher
Writer
 
Christopher's Avatar
 
Re: Day of Honor reading order?

The books are each self-contained adventures and don't have to be read in any particular sequence, but they were published in that order for a reason. Maybe partly it was just to mix things up (since the previous crossover, Invasion!, had started with TOS, so this time they saved it for last), but the idea was to do several books about the holiday and then finish by explaining how the holiday began.
__________________
Christopher L. Bennett Homepage -- Site update 4/8/14 including annotations for Rise of the Federation: Tower of Babel

Written Worlds -- My blog
Christopher is online now   Reply With Quote
Old October 21 2013, 04:35 PM   #4
milo bloom
Fleet Captain
 
milo bloom's Avatar
 
Location: The varied and beautiful Chicagoland suburbs.
Re: Day of Honor reading order?

Thanks, I'll just dive in then.

(Wonder if there's ever been interest in doing ENT books for series like DoH and Invasion! ?)
__________________
'Tis a lie! Thy backside is whole and ungobbled, thou ungrateful whelp!
milo bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21 2013, 05:56 PM   #5
Christopher
Writer
 
Christopher's Avatar
 
Re: Day of Honor reading order?

milo bloom wrote: View Post
(Wonder if there's ever been interest in doing ENT books for series like DoH and Invasion! ?)
Well, the premise of the books is that the Day of Honor was created to commemorate an incident involving Kirk and Kor (as seen in Treaty's Law), so there couldn't be an ENT entry without some serious retconning. Similarly, Invasion! showed Starfleet first becoming aware of the Furies in 2267, so if an ENT novel were added, it'd have to be something in the vein of "Acquisition" or "Regeneration" where the crew never figured out who it was they'd encountered.
__________________
Christopher L. Bennett Homepage -- Site update 4/8/14 including annotations for Rise of the Federation: Tower of Babel

Written Worlds -- My blog
Christopher is online now   Reply With Quote
Old October 21 2013, 08:41 PM   #6
tomswift2002
Captain
 
Re: Day of Honor reading order?

Didn't the omnibus also have the YA DS9 story? It's funny how DS9 and Voyager managed to get the majority of the stories in that mini-series, since you also had the novelization of the VOY episode, and the only cross-over with the YA books.
tomswift2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21 2013, 09:37 PM   #7
milo bloom
Fleet Captain
 
milo bloom's Avatar
 
Location: The varied and beautiful Chicagoland suburbs.
Re: Day of Honor reading order?

Christopher wrote: View Post
milo bloom wrote: View Post
(Wonder if there's ever been interest in doing ENT books for series like DoH and Invasion! ?)
Well, the premise of the books is that the Day of Honor was created to commemorate an incident involving Kirk and Kor (as seen in Treaty's Law), so there couldn't be an ENT entry without some serious retconning. Similarly, Invasion! showed Starfleet first becoming aware of the Furies in 2267, so if an ENT novel were added, it'd have to be something in the vein of "Acquisition" or "Regeneration" where the crew never figured out who it was they'd encountered.
OK, hadn't read DoH yet, so wasn't sure how old the Klingon holiday was, and as for ENT for Invasion!, that was my thought too, it would be something they wouldn't be able to identify as "The Furies".

(Dang, now I want to re-read Invasion! too). Currently on book 3 of Cold Equations.
__________________
'Tis a lie! Thy backside is whole and ungobbled, thou ungrateful whelp!
milo bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:04 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
FireFox 2+ or Internet Explorer 7+ highly recommended.