RSS iconTwitter iconFacebook icon

The Trek BBS title image

The Trek BBS statistics

Threads: 144,935
Posts: 5,700,547
Members: 25,694
Currently online: 504
Newest member: Lowkey

TrekToday headlines

Wheaton To Introduce Beer
By: T'Bonz on May 6

Wheaton In Dark Matter
By: T'Bonz on May 6

Star Trek: The Next Generation Commemorative Coins
By: T'Bonz on May 5

Star Trek IV: What Might Have Been
By: T'Bonz on May 5

Russ Explains Star Wars Day
By: T'Bonz on May 4

New Seekers Book Covers Debut
By: T'Bonz on May 4

Whitney Passes
By: T'Bonz on May 4

Retro Review: Phage
By: Michelle on May 2

The Next Generation Shower Curtain
By: T'Bonz on May 1

Burton Part of Roots Reboot
By: T'Bonz on May 1


Welcome! The Trek BBS is the number one place to chat about Star Trek with like-minded fans. Please login to see our full range of forums as well as the ability to send and receive private messages, track your favourite topics and of course join in the discussions.

If you are a new visitor, join us for free. If you are an existing member please login below. Note: for members who joined under our old messageboard system, please login with your display name not your login name.


Go Back   The Trek BBS > Entertainment & Interests > Gaming

Gaming Non-Star Trek Gaming

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old December 23 2011, 11:33 PM   #1
JayOwl
Vice Admiral
 
JayOwl's Avatar
 
Location: The Endless River
View JayOwl's Twitter Profile
OS Not Compatible

Right, so a couple of days ago I bought Battlefield 3 off ebay, and I got quite a good deal on it- I now have it on origin. Unfortunely I still have XP, and although my computer is capable in every other way, the game's been made so that XP does not support it. Only Vista or Window's 7 would work.

Anyway, I've got a vista disk (that I thought I'd never use), and I was wondering how easy it would be to duel-boot my pc. (I'd keep XP because Vista's shit; I'd only use vista for games really.)

Would I need another hard disk, or could I still create a duel on the same one if I cleared it a bit (226GB), and would I have much of a risk of losing the data on my hard drive? I've got as long as I want- I 'own' the game now, I just can't play it. Any help would be appreciated! Thanks!
__________________
"Louder than words, This thing they call soul, Is there with a pulse, Louder than words"
Last.FM, Soundcloud
~JayOwl
JayOwl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 25 2011, 03:48 PM   #2
FordSVT
Vice Admiral
 
FordSVT's Avatar
 
Location: Atlantic Canada
Re: OS Not Compatible

If you create a dual boot and you only have one volume, you may lose data when you set up your partitions. You really should back up anything that is important to you just in case.

I also disagree with you that Vista is "shit". At this point, it's a very good OS. W7 is better, but Vista works just fine as long as your computer isn't a decade old.
__________________
-FordSVT-
FordSVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 25 2011, 04:19 PM   #3
Saturn0660
Rear Admiral
 
Saturn0660's Avatar
 
Location: NE Ohio
View Saturn0660's Twitter Profile
Re: OS Not Compatible

No, he's right.. Vista is shit..
__________________
How many lights do YOU see?
Saturn0660 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 25 2011, 04:25 PM   #4
Robert Maxwell
Knives Out, 24/7/365
 
Robert Maxwell's Avatar
 
Location: NJ Chapter
View Robert Maxwell's Twitter Profile Send a message via ICQ to Robert Maxwell Send a message via AIM to Robert Maxwell Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Robert Maxwell Send a message via Yahoo to Robert Maxwell
Re: OS Not Compatible

I'd recommend resizing your primary Windows partition from within Windows, then let the Vista installer use that space to set up its own partition.

You should be able to do this by going to Control Panel -> Adminsitrative Tools -> Computer Management -> Disk Management. Right-click the partition you want to resize, and pick "Shrink Volume". For best results, you'd probably want to do a full defragment first.

If you want even better results, I recommend using GPartEd from a live CD. That will let you shrink the partition as small as possible.

I recommend backing up anything you can't replace before you attempt any of this. Messing with partitions is always risky business, and you can easily lose everything if something goes wrong or you make a mistake.
__________________
Not affiliated with those other white knights. I'm the good kind.
I has a blag.
Robert Maxwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 26 2011, 11:23 PM   #5
JayOwl
Vice Admiral
 
JayOwl's Avatar
 
Location: The Endless River
View JayOwl's Twitter Profile
Re: OS Not Compatible

Ok, thanks for the help everyone! When I next get a chance I'll come back to this at some point and use some of the info. I will definitely be backing important things up before I try anything... When I do it (at some point in the next month hopefully), I'll post it in here.
__________________
"Louder than words, This thing they call soul, Is there with a pulse, Louder than words"
Last.FM, Soundcloud
~JayOwl
JayOwl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25 2012, 06:01 PM   #6
JayOwl
Vice Admiral
 
JayOwl's Avatar
 
Location: The Endless River
View JayOwl's Twitter Profile
Re: OS Not Compatible

Sorry for this zombie, but I've now got Vista! XP crashed so I installed over it after extracting backups, and it worked.
Battlefield 3 time finally!

Mods, you can close this thread if you want to- I don't mind either way.
__________________
"Louder than words, This thing they call soul, Is there with a pulse, Louder than words"
Last.FM, Soundcloud
~JayOwl
JayOwl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:50 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
FireFox 2+ or Internet Explorer 7+ highly recommended.