RSS iconTwitter iconFacebook icon

The Trek BBS title image

The Trek BBS statistics

Threads: 143,917
Posts: 5,642,089
Members: 25,497
Currently online: 500
Newest member: Knight

TrekToday headlines

Shatner’s Man O’ War As Cinematic Graphic Novel
By: T'Bonz on Mar 31

Blunt Talk Teaser Released
By: T'Bonz on Mar 31

Star Trek ReActions Second Wave Figures
By: T'Bonz on Mar 30

Pegg Addresses Trek 3 Rumors
By: T'Bonz on Mar 30

Nimoy Documentary To Be Produced
By: T'Bonz on Mar 30

Retro Review: The Dogs of War
By: Michelle on Mar 28

Takei Calls For Boycott
By: T'Bonz on Mar 27

April-May 2015 Trek Conventions And Appearances
By: T'Bonz on Mar 27

Quinto TV Alert
By: T'Bonz on Mar 26

Shatner Remembers Nimoy
By: T'Bonz on Mar 26


Welcome! The Trek BBS is the number one place to chat about Star Trek with like-minded fans. Please login to see our full range of forums as well as the ability to send and receive private messages, track your favourite topics and of course join in the discussions.

If you are a new visitor, join us for free. If you are an existing member please login below. Note: for members who joined under our old messageboard system, please login with your display name not your login name.


Go Back   The Trek BBS > Entertainment & Interests > Science Fiction & Fantasy > Stargate

Stargate Sir, we can't call it the Enterprise forum.

 
 
Thread Tools
Old May 25 2010, 12:07 AM   #1
Brent
Admiral
 
Brent's Avatar
 
Location: TARDIS
Send a message via ICQ to Brent Send a message via AIM to Brent Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Brent
Wait a Minute, how did they know how much power?

If this has been addressed, forgive me, but I can't remember.

How did Earth know that to dial the 9th Chevron to Destiny (which at the time they did not know where the 9th chevron would actually dial to) they needed an "Icarus" type planet, or a planet or power source of that magnitude?

I mean, first of all, they had no idea where the 9th chevron dialed. So how did they know they needed that much power to do it? Had they tried multiple ZPMs already? They had no idea where it was going to go, so how did they know how much power was required.

We learned that in the last episode, every vein of Naquadria was mapped on the planet because the power generation has to be absolutely perfect, if it is off, bad things happen apparently. So, what are the chances even of finding two planets with the same exact power output capability? Not to mention, how did they know what the power requirement was in the first place?

This was all brought up because in the Subversion thread, someone mentioned maybe the LA is bringing a ZPM to power the gate. But obviously the SGC would have tried that, so that can't be enough power.
__________________
"Would you mind not standing on my chest? My hat's on fire." - The Doctor

My Let's Play Series of STO - http://www.youtube.com/user/JustGaming4Us
Brent is offline  
Old May 25 2010, 12:24 AM   #2
Robert Maxwell
Knives Out, 24/7/365
 
Robert Maxwell's Avatar
 
Location: NJ Chapter
View Robert Maxwell's Twitter Profile Send a message via ICQ to Robert Maxwell Send a message via AIM to Robert Maxwell Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Robert Maxwell Send a message via Yahoo to Robert Maxwell
Re: Wait a Minute, how did they know how much power?

No doubt they tried dialing the 9-chevron address using the Earth gate and found that it just didn't work. Since the stargate can produce error codes (I forget what episode that was stated in), it probably produced a code to the effect of "insufficient power." There's no telling how many different ways they tried to power it before coming across the idea of using a planet with massive naquadriah deposits.

Given the Ancient equations they had to solve, too, it might have actually said in the Ancient database how much power was required, and guys like Rush did the math and realized you'd need a planet loaded to the gills with naquadriah to make it work.
__________________
Not affiliated with those other white knights. I'm the good kind.
I has a blag.
Robert Maxwell is offline  
Old May 25 2010, 12:47 AM   #3
David cgc
Vice Admiral
 
David cgc's Avatar
 
Re: Wait a Minute, how did they know how much power?

Brent wrote: View Post
So, what are the chances even of finding two planets with the same exact power output capability?
But they weren't exactly the same, they were both just really big. Otherwise, Rush wouldn't have needed to mention they'd need to recalculate for the planet they were on.
__________________
“I come here to have fun and fuck around merrily. I expect to showered by all kind of random crap.”
iguana_tonante
David cgc is offline  
Old May 25 2010, 01:45 AM   #4
The Wormhole
Admiral
 
The Wormhole's Avatar
 
Re: Wait a Minute, how did they know how much power?

They did obtain the nine chevron address from Atlantis's database. I just assumed there were instructions there as well regarding dialing procedures.
__________________
"Internet message boards aren't as funny today as they were ten years ago. I've stopped reading new posts." -The Simpsons 20th anniversary special.
The Wormhole is offline  
Old May 26 2010, 01:57 PM   #5
Chemahkuu
Vice Admiral
 
Chemahkuu's Avatar
 
Location: United Kingdom
Send a message via Yahoo to Chemahkuu
Re: Wait a Minute, how did they know how much power?

Didn't they say in the Pilot though that the Gate on the Icarus planet was specially modified by the Ancients? requiring all travel to the planet to be by ship. So not only would they need to have the power necessary (they have no idea the exact amount since the Naquadriah was going critical), solve all the equations (Eli may not have transmitted the corrected solutions) and have a Gate modified to dial out to Destiny (and having maybe no idea or ability to make said modifications). So...
__________________
"But there's no sense crying over every mistake. You just keep on trying till you run out of cake."
Chemahkuu is offline  
Old May 26 2010, 02:05 PM   #6
David cgc
Vice Admiral
 
David cgc's Avatar
 
Re: Wait a Minute, how did they know how much power?

No, it was modified by the humans by being plugged into the planet. They were afraid using it would... well, destabilize the core of the world and blow it all up.
__________________
“I come here to have fun and fuck around merrily. I expect to showered by all kind of random crap.”
iguana_tonante
David cgc is offline  
Old May 26 2010, 02:10 PM   #7
Chemahkuu
Vice Admiral
 
Chemahkuu's Avatar
 
Location: United Kingdom
Send a message via Yahoo to Chemahkuu
Re: Wait a Minute, how did they know how much power?

And yet it was that chain reaction that powered the gate, I doubt they blew apart another planet just to dial them.
__________________
"But there's no sense crying over every mistake. You just keep on trying till you run out of cake."
Chemahkuu is offline  
Old May 28 2010, 04:39 AM   #8
bryce
Commodore
 
bryce's Avatar
 
Location: bryce
View bryce's Twitter Profile Send a message via Yahoo to bryce
Re: Wait a Minute, how did they know how much power?

I wonder if for the Ancients...they could just easily rig up 100 ZPM's together and easily dial Destiny...

But since Destiny pre-dates ZPM technology...I wonder how they planned to get there?

I guess that when it (Destiny) was much, much closer, the power requirements would have been *substantially* less...

I wonder if, when Destiny was planned and built...if the idea was *ever* to return? Or to return after a very, very long time...perhaps after flying much of the way back on a return course...?

We have no idea how long the Ancients lived...right? But I'd assume by even Destiny's time, they could have been near-immortal...
__________________
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/bryceburchett
Twitter: https://twitter.com/bryceburchett
03dashk64@gmail.com ("dash" *is* spelled out!)
bryce is offline  
Old May 29 2010, 08:05 PM   #9
Silent_Bob
Fleet Captain
 
Silent_Bob's Avatar
 
Re: Wait a Minute, how did they know how much power?

bryce wrote: View Post
I wonder if for the Ancients...they could just easily rig up 100 ZPM's together and easily dial Destiny...

But since Destiny pre-dates ZPM technology...I wonder how they planned to get there?

I guess that when it (Destiny) was much, much closer, the power requirements would have been *substantially* less...

I wonder if, when Destiny was planned and built...if the idea was *ever* to return? Or to return after a very, very long time...perhaps after flying much of the way back on a return course...?

We have no idea how long the Ancients lived...right? But I'd assume by even Destiny's time, they could have been near-immortal...
The Ancients would have been going to Destiny when it was far closer to the Milky Way, so perhaps they had a power source sufficient to dial a gate a galaxy or two away.
__________________
"Does the cold of deep space make your nipples go pointy Bowie? Do you use your pointy nipples as telescopic antennae to transmit data back to Earth? I bet you do, you freaky old bastard you"
Silent_Bob is offline  
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:08 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
FireFox 2+ or Internet Explorer 7+ highly recommended.