New to CSI, need some help on where to start.

Discussion in 'TV & Media' started by Jefferies, Dec 4, 2011.

1. Jefferies

Jefferies Captain Captain

Hi everyone,

Before I ask my question, I appologise if this is not the correct place to discuss CSI. However, the subforum requires an extra registration which I do not fancy. Also, I'm more interested in what my fellow TrekBBS posters think about this show rather than people on another message board.

I have never watched a single episode of this show and I would like to know as a complete newbie where would you recommend I should start? For this question please consider that I do not plan on watching all of the 100s of episodes in this series. Ideally, I would like to start at a point where you can catch up to what is going on at the moment without being left in the dark with regard to the characters, themes and major plots.

My second question is which season of CSI do you think is the most accomplished out of the 11 and a half so far?

My final question is how you rate the spin-offs CSI: Miami and CSI:NY. Are they better, worse, generally inferior/superior to the original? Basically, what I'm asking for here, in your opinion which series do you rate most highly?

Thanks for your help!

2. Alidar Jarok

Alidar Jarok Everything in moderation but moderation Moderator

I'm at most a casual watcher (and haven't watched in quite awhile). My recommendation is to basically catch random episodes as they're virtually standalone. Watch the first two episodes (not sure if it's technically a two parter, but they go together). Then you can probably get away with catching whatever episodes you want. I'm sure someone who is a bigger fan can tell you especially good episodes or especially quality seasons. However, the first few seasons were good because the show was fresh.