A question about holodecks.

Discussion in 'Trek Tech' started by The Rock, Jul 9, 2014.

1. The Rock

The Rock Fleet Captain Fleet Captain

I've always been somewhat confused by them. I'm not good at explaining things, so I hope this makes at least a modicum of sense! :lol:

In the very first TNG episode, we saw that once a holodeck program is started, one's freedom of movement inside the program is limited to the actual walls of the holodeck room (as we saw when the holodeck wall was hit by a rock). In other words, if you started a holodeck program of, say, Disney World, you wouldn't be able to walk through the entire park, you'd just be limited to the actual walls of the holodeck, right?

Well, why is it we saw some TNG episodes of Dixon Hill (and also in "A Fistful of Datas") where the virtual environment was bigger than the room, and the crew was able to walk beyond the walls of the holodeck?

Also, in the Voyager episode "The Killing Game" they were fighting a World War II battle in the holodeck, and the program was messing up, somehow the holodeck became like two or three stories tall when the room was NOT that big!

2. trekshark

trekshark Captain Captain

supposedly there is some kind of treadmill effect so you end up walking in place and the picture around you changes so you think you're moving

3. The Rock

Ah, that makes sense! And it makes holodecks a lot more fun!

4. Ithekro

Ithekro Vice Admiral Admiral

Also one assumes some sort of forced perspective on other living beings taking part in the holodeck so that even if you are basically across the room from them, they appear to be much farther away. Also so you don't have to stick together as a group in the room and go off on your own, even though you actually are basically only a few yards away from each other.

Sound isolation as well. Otherwise you might find people....doing things, upon entering the holodeck.

5. Christopher

Christopher Writer Admiral