Older people - How do you define 'young'

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous' started by Kirby, Nov 21, 2013.

1. Kirby

Kirby Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

Do you have some kind of date where you define someone as a young person (not a sexual thing, just 'hey, you're too young'). I'm 45, and when I was younger it was if they were alive before Star Wars came out. Later I advanced that to 1984, or more of less when the Kenny Loggins/Steve Perry song 'Don't Fight It' came out. Now it's 1990, when I graduated college. Does anyone else have an old/young Mendoza line?

2. bbailey861

bbailey861 Admiral Admiral

First, how do you define old(er)?

3. Kirby

Kirby Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

^^ That's changed over the years too. When I was a kid I thought 40 was ancient, but that 'old line' has blurred and it's harder to define what is old. Probably because I'm headed that way and don't really want to face it. I guess I'll say old is an age where they need assistance to take care of themselves.

4. ManOnTheWave

ManOnTheWave Vice Admiral Admiral

This. I think I was 25 when an 18 year old college classmate declared I was old. By contrast, when I was a teenager I seemed to meet gobs of people in their 40s who were still really youthful. It's all relative.

5. iguana_tonante

iguana_tonante Admiral Admiral

When I was younger, I was old. Now that I'm older, I'm young.

6. RoJoHen

RoJoHen Awesome Admiral

I am 28, and for the most part I consider anyone 21 and below to be "young," but that might just be because I work in a bar and 21-year olds are incredibly immature drinkers.

7. Peach Wookiee

Peach Wookiee Cuddly Mod of Doom Moderator

I'm 33 and sometimes feel old...

8. JarodRussell

JarodRussell Vice Admiral Admiral

It must be somewhat of a sexual thing. It was interesting how in the decade between 20 and 30, the 18-25 year old girls suddenly became less attractive because they were too young looking.

9. Gov Kodos

Gov Kodos Admiral Admiral