RSS iconTwitter iconFacebook icon

The Trek BBS title image

The Trek BBS statistics

Threads: 139,646
Posts: 5,428,298
Members: 24,810
Currently online: 533
Newest member: Damix

TrekToday headlines

Trek Messenger Bag
By: T'Bonz on Sep 18

Star Trek Live In Concert In Australia
By: T'Bonz on Sep 18

IDW Publishing December Trek Comics
By: T'Bonz on Sep 17

September Loot Crate Features Trek Surprise
By: T'Bonz on Sep 16

USS Enterprise Miniature Out For Refit
By: T'Bonz on Sep 16

Star Trek/Planet of the Apes Comic Crossover
By: T'Bonz on Sep 16

Trek 3 Shooting Next Spring?
By: T'Bonz on Sep 16

Star Trek: Alien Domain Game Announced
By: T'Bonz on Sep 15

Red Shirt Diaries Episode Three
By: T'Bonz on Sep 15

Made Out Of Mudd Photonovel
By: T'Bonz on Sep 15


Welcome! The Trek BBS is the number one place to chat about Star Trek with like-minded fans. Please login to see our full range of forums as well as the ability to send and receive private messages, track your favourite topics and of course join in the discussions.

If you are a new visitor, join us for free. If you are an existing member please login below. Note: for members who joined under our old messageboard system, please login with your display name not your login name.


Go Back   The Trek BBS > Misc. Star Trek > Trek Tech

Trek Tech Pass me the quantum flux regulator, will you?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old May 22 2013, 09:09 PM   #1
Faria
Lieutenant
 
Location: Padova
Do turbolifts have any sense?

I think not.

The ships aren't big enough, for , maybe, the excaption of galaxy class.

Turbolisf are just a waste of space.

They could have some sense if they connect just some critical point of the ship (bridge, engineering,sickbay, officer quarters), but just for really big ship.
Faria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22 2013, 09:26 PM   #2
MacLeod
Admiral
 
Location: Great Britain
Re: Do turbolifts have any sense?

Turbolifts are hardly a waste of space, how much internal volume do those ships have.
__________________
On the continent of wild endeavour in the mountains of solace and solitude there stood the citadel of the time lords, the oldest and most mighty race in the universe looking down on the galaxies below sworn never to interfere only to watch.
MacLeod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22 2013, 10:02 PM   #3
Pavonis
Commodore
 
Re: Do turbolifts have any sense?

Turbo lifts are a problem now? What's the alternative - stairs? Ladders? Maybe site-to-site transporters?
Pavonis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22 2013, 10:46 PM   #4
Faria
Lieutenant
 
Location: Padova
Re: Do turbolifts have any sense?

Pavonis wrote: View Post
Turbo lifts are a problem now? What's the alternative - stairs? Ladders? Maybe site-to-site transporters?
stairs, normal lift, corridors and more corridors, like today's ships
Faria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22 2013, 10:48 PM   #5
Faria
Lieutenant
 
Location: Padova
Re: Do turbolifts have any sense?

MacLeod wrote: View Post
Turbolifts are hardly a waste of space, how much internal volume do those ships have.
A waste of space is a waste of space, even in a ship with a big internal volume
Faria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22 2013, 11:25 PM   #6
MacLeod
Admiral
 
Location: Great Britain
Re: Do turbolifts have any sense?

Let's see, what's the difference between having more corridors, and more staircases instead of a turbolift shaft?

Wouldn't a corridor and more corridors and staircase(s) take up space as well?

Your reasoning is non sequitor. You are saying that turbolift shafts take up space, but to replace them by corridors which also take up space.
__________________
On the continent of wild endeavour in the mountains of solace and solitude there stood the citadel of the time lords, the oldest and most mighty race in the universe looking down on the galaxies below sworn never to interfere only to watch.
MacLeod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22 2013, 11:47 PM   #7
Robert Comsol
Commodore
 
Robert Comsol's Avatar
 
Location: USS Berlin
Re: Do turbolifts have any sense?

Kirk's TV Enterprise had a sickbay that needed to receive incoming emergencies from the transporter rooms and I have a hard time imagining how to move any of these TOS stretcher trolleys from here to there other than by means of some kind of elevator.

And walking from the Bridge to the Hangar Deck would then be less a waste of space but definitely a waste of time, wouldn't it?

Bob
__________________
"The first duty of every Starfleet officer is to the truth" Jean-Luc Picard
"We can't solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them."
Albert Einstein
Robert Comsol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22 2013, 11:56 PM   #8
Faria
Lieutenant
 
Location: Padova
Re: Do turbolifts have any sense?

MacLeod wrote: View Post
Let's see, what's the difference between having more corridors, and more staircases instead of a turbolift shaft?

Wouldn't a corridor and more corridors and staircase(s) take up space as well?

Your reasoning is non sequitor. You are saying that turbolift shafts take up space, but to replace them by corridors which also take up space.
an imagine is better rhan 1000 words:

Faria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23 2013, 12:04 AM   #9
Faria
Lieutenant
 
Location: Padova
Re: Do turbolifts have any sense?

Robert Comsol wrote: View Post
Kirk's TV Enterprise had a sickbay that needed to receive incoming emergencies from the transporter rooms and I have a hard time imagining how to move any of these TOS stretcher trolleys from here to there other than by means of some kind of elevator.

And walking from the Bridge to the Hangar Deck would then be less a waste of space but definitely a waste of time, wouldn't it?

Bob


from bridge to hangar:

1-take a lift on the bridge to deck 5
2- walk for about 50 meters to a lift from deck 5 to a lift for deck 17
3-walk for another 50 meters

a walk of 100 metrs, sustenable
Faria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23 2013, 12:07 AM   #10
MacLeod
Admiral
 
Location: Great Britain
Re: Do turbolifts have any sense?

Yes some jounreys might be more efficent walking than taking a turbolift, but thats no different than today. Where some people drive half a quarter mile to a shop to buy a paper instead of walking to the shop.

The simple solution would be to have a transporter room next to sick bay. Or falling that at least on the same deck.

As for deck plans available online I'd take those with a pinch of salt.
__________________
On the continent of wild endeavour in the mountains of solace and solitude there stood the citadel of the time lords, the oldest and most mighty race in the universe looking down on the galaxies below sworn never to interfere only to watch.
MacLeod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23 2013, 02:44 AM   #11
Albertese
Commodore
 
Albertese's Avatar
 
Location: Portland, OR
Re: Do turbolifts have any sense?

Faria wrote: View Post
MacLeod wrote: View Post
Let's see, what's the difference between having more corridors, and more staircases instead of a turbolift shaft?

Wouldn't a corridor and more corridors and staircase(s) take up space as well?

Your reasoning is non sequitor. You are saying that turbolift shafts take up space, but to replace them by corridors which also take up space.
an imagine is better rhan 1000 words:


You may have misunderstood that drawing... Here's the same trip you tried to plot, using brown for the corridors and blue for the turbolifts. You can see the turbolift is a way more direct route. To go on foot, you have to cut through the Rec Deck! It seems like, at least on this version, the designers are assuming that turbolifts are the primary means of moving around on the ship.




--Alex
__________________
Check out my website: www.goldtoothstudio.squarespace.com

Last edited by Albertese; May 23 2013 at 05:38 AM.
Albertese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23 2013, 11:09 AM   #12
Faria
Lieutenant
 
Location: Padova
Re: Do turbolifts have any sense?

Albertese wrote: View Post
Faria wrote: View Post
MacLeod wrote: View Post
Let's see, what's the difference between having more corridors, and more staircases instead of a turbolift shaft?

Wouldn't a corridor and more corridors and staircase(s) take up space as well?

Your reasoning is non sequitor. You are saying that turbolift shafts take up space, but to replace them by corridors which also take up space.
an imagine is better rhan 1000 words:


You may have misunderstood that drawing... Here's the same trip you tried to plot, using brown for the corridors and blue for the turbolifts. You can see the turbolift is a way more direct route. To go on foot, you have to cut through the Rec Deck! It seems like, at least on this version, the designers are assuming that turbolifts are the primary means of moving around on the ship.




--Alex
my draw was iuntended for a situatin where turbolifts don't work
Faria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23 2013, 12:21 PM   #13
The Librarian
Commodore
 
Re: Do turbolifts have any sense?

While some deck plans go overboard in my opinion and need more stairs, you really do need to have lifts to get around a ship that size. It's the vertical component that's the main problem. The Defiant would do fine without lifts, but trying to climb up and down twenty decks to go from the bridge to engineering would be time consuming and exhausting, and dangerous when rapid transit is needed.
The Librarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23 2013, 04:05 PM   #14
Faria
Lieutenant
 
Location: Padova
Re: Do turbolifts have any sense?

The Librarian wrote: View Post
While some deck plans go overboard in my opinion and need more stairs, you really do need to have lifts to get around a ship that size. It's the vertical component that's the main problem. The Defiant would do fine without lifts, but trying to climb up and down twenty decks to go from the bridge to engineering would be time consuming and exhausting, and dangerous when rapid transit is needed.
Normal lifts are ok, orizontal lift are not
Faria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23 2013, 04:10 PM   #15
Faria
Lieutenant
 
Location: Padova
Re: Do turbolifts have any sense?

Albertese wrote: View Post





--Alex
whay program did you use to do this?
Faria is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:04 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
FireFox 2+ or Internet Explorer 7+ highly recommended.