RSS iconTwitter iconFacebook icon

The Trek BBS title image

The Trek BBS statistics

Threads: 140,957
Posts: 5,480,109
Members: 25,057
Currently online: 522
Newest member: Ghost_of_Bubba

TrekToday headlines

USS Enterprise Press-Out And Build Manual
By: T'Bonz on Nov 28

New QMx USS Reliant Model
By: T'Bonz on Nov 28

Star Trek Thirty-Five Years On 35MM: A Retrospective
By: T'Bonz on Nov 28

Trek Shirt And Hoodie
By: T'Bonz on Nov 27

A Klingon Christmas Carol’s Last Season
By: T'Bonz on Nov 27

Attack Wing Wave 10 Expansion Pack
By: T'Bonz on Nov 27

New Star Trek Funko Pop! Vinyl Figures
By: T'Bonz on Nov 26

QMx Mini Phaser Ornament
By: T'Bonz on Nov 26

Stewart as Neo-Nazi Skinhead
By: T'Bonz on Nov 26

Klingon Bloodwine To Debut
By: T'Bonz on Nov 25


Welcome! The Trek BBS is the number one place to chat about Star Trek with like-minded fans. Please login to see our full range of forums as well as the ability to send and receive private messages, track your favourite topics and of course join in the discussions.

If you are a new visitor, join us for free. If you are an existing member please login below. Note: for members who joined under our old messageboard system, please login with your display name not your login name.


Go Back   The Trek BBS > Star Trek TV Series > Star Trek - Original Series

Star Trek - Original Series The one that started it all...

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old January 6 2012, 07:37 PM   #16
22 Stars
Commodore
 
Re: Star Trek on bluray

That is so lame, must be a bad design of the disc, sorry to hear that.

I hope the OP has found the menu to toggle this setting on his device. I remember I found a whole set of menus only accessible when NO DISC was present in the device.
22 Stars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 6 2012, 09:31 PM   #17
J. Lester
Fleet Captain
 
J. Lester's Avatar
 
Location: Alabama
View J. Lester's Twitter Profile Send a message via ICQ to J. Lester Send a message via AIM to J. Lester Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to J. Lester Send a message via Yahoo to J. Lester
Re: Star Trek on bluray

My BD player doesn't even have an angle button on the remote, let alone the "feature" the OP asked about. Switching angles is very cumbersome, so I don't normally use the Trek BDs' branching capability.
__________________
"Ee'd pebnista nordor formor purfektunum...."
Cloud William, reciting the Preamble to the United States Constitution.
J. Lester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5 2013, 01:26 PM   #18
KarmicCurse
Lieutenant
 
Location: Detroit
Re: Star Trek on bluray

I'm finally ready to buy these as they are currently a manageable $40 each at FYE. I've only ever seen the season 1 box before, and I'm surprised that the season 2 & 3 boxes are slimmer. I'm wondering if these are repackages with fewer discs to eliminate special features and make them cheaper, or were 2 & 3 in slimmer cases to begin with? Thanks.
KarmicCurse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5 2013, 07:22 PM   #19
HGN2001
Commander
 
HGN2001's Avatar
 
Location: Sunny Central Florida
Re: Star Trek on bluray

KarmicCurse wrote: View Post
I'm finally ready to buy these as they are currently a manageable $40 each at FYE. I've only ever seen the season 1 box before, and I'm surprised that the season 2 & 3 boxes are slimmer. I'm wondering if these are repackages with fewer discs to eliminate special features and make them cheaper, or were 2 & 3 in slimmer cases to begin with? Thanks.
I bought all three seasons from Amazon when they put it on sale, and got Seasons 1 and 2 in fatter boxes with slipcases on the outside, and Season 3 in a slimmer box with no slipcase.

Harry
HGN2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5 2013, 07:34 PM   #20
KarmicCurse
Lieutenant
 
Location: Detroit
Re: Star Trek on bluray

Thank you. Perhaps it was only 3 that was slimmer when I saw them. I also noticed the lack of a slip case.
KarmicCurse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5 2013, 07:37 PM   #21
Noname Given
Vice Admiral
 
Location: None Given
Re: Star Trek on bluray

The Caprican wrote: View Post
Bollocks. I have tried it on two different machines. And they both do it. Any clues as yo how I get rid of it? The menu says its to identify when you can toggle back and forth between the new and old graphics. But I don't know how to make it go away.
Funny - doesn't do it on the two Sony Blu-Ray players I own and watch it on - guess I must be blind, eh?
Noname Given is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5 2013, 09:47 PM   #22
Ssosmcin
Rear Admiral
 
Ssosmcin's Avatar
 
Location: ssosmcin
Re: Star Trek on bluray

It depends on the brand. On my Playstation 3, it never happens, On my Magnavox it does.
__________________
"Tranya is people!"
Ssosmcin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5 2013, 10:06 PM   #23
Ovation
Vice Admiral
 
Location: La Belle Province or The Green Mountain State (depends on the day of the week)
Re: Star Trek on bluray

To OP: Which brand and models are the players specifically?
Ovation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5 2013, 10:27 PM   #24
BillJ
Admiral
 
BillJ's Avatar
 
Location: Covington, Ky.
View BillJ's Twitter Profile
Re: Star Trek on bluray

ssosmcin wrote: View Post
It depends on the brand. On my Playstation 3, it never happens, On my Magnavox it does.
I have the PS3 and a Magnavox player I bought in 2009 and have the same results.
__________________
"If I hadn't tried, the cost would have been my soul." - Admiral James T. Kirk, Star Trek III: The Search for Spock
BillJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 6 2013, 05:59 PM   #25
Haggis and tatties
Rear Admiral
 
Haggis and tatties's Avatar
 
Location: Glasgow
Re: Star Trek on bluray

Therin of Andor wrote: View Post
Mr. Laser Beam wrote: View Post
^ Can't you set some prefs on the PS3 so that any Blu-Rays it plays won't be *allowed* to access the 'net? My BR player has an option like that.
Nope, not that I could find. The Blu-Ray refused to load until it had downloaded the extras. In about 30 BD purchases so far, it was the only one to refuse.
Scroll the ps3 dashboard all the way left to settings, then scroll all the way down to network, click internet connection, click disable.

Taaadaaa!.
__________________

Haggis and tatties is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 6 2013, 06:37 PM   #26
ATimson
Rear Admiral
 
ATimson's Avatar
 
Location: Andrew Timson
Re: Star Trek on bluray

HGN2001 wrote: View Post
I bought all three seasons from Amazon when they put it on sale, and got Seasons 1 and 2 in fatter boxes with slipcases on the outside, and Season 3 in a slimmer box with no slipcase.
Season 3 is indeed slimmer (it came with one fewer disc). But mine did have a slipcase when I bought it at launch.
__________________
Andrew Timson
===============
"Niceness is the greatest human flaw, except for all the others." - Brendan Moody

"...don't mistake a few fans bitching on the Internet for any kind of trend." - Keith R.A. DeCandido
ATimson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7 2013, 01:28 AM   #27
Ovation
Vice Admiral
 
Location: La Belle Province or The Green Mountain State (depends on the day of the week)
Re: Star Trek on bluray

Amazon is hit or miss with slipcases, in my experience.

My TOS collection is in three sets but four formats. Seasons 2 and 3 are Blu-ray, season 1 is HD DVD on one side and DVD on the other. The season packaging is more elaborate but less practical.
Ovation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7 2013, 11:10 PM   #28
JimZipCode
Lieutenant Commander
 
Re: Star Trek on bluray

Does anyone else have the problem with the season 1 Blu-ray, that the sound balance is off? The music is super-loud, the dialogue is very quiet? I wind up cranking up the volume to hear lines of dialogue, than frantically dialing it way down when the music swells.

It's actually terrible. Really interferes with watching the episodes.
JimZipCode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7 2013, 11:38 PM   #29
Haggis and tatties
Rear Admiral
 
Haggis and tatties's Avatar
 
Location: Glasgow
Re: Star Trek on bluray

Does your Tv have that auto volume thing.....if so make sure its on.....that might help.

Or try a diffrent sound setting, i use clear voice as my Tv sound setting.

I am of course assuming your just using the TV for sound, and not some amped separate sound system.
__________________

Haggis and tatties is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8 2013, 01:37 AM   #30
Ovation
Vice Admiral
 
Location: La Belle Province or The Green Mountain State (depends on the day of the week)
Re: Star Trek on bluray

If you are using a home cinema receiver (and it's less than 10 years old), there should be a setting for dynamic range compression or something similar. Set it to maximum.

Another thing to try is selecting the original 2.0 mono setting for audio rather than the default DTS HD-MA 7.1 audio. The DTS audio has a lot more dynamic range than the original audio and could easily cause your problem if you are relying on a TV speaker set, especially if it is a flat panel hi-def set.
Ovation is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
bluray, tos

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:45 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
FireFox 2+ or Internet Explorer 7+ highly recommended.