RSS iconTwitter iconFacebook icon

The Trek BBS title image

The Trek BBS statistics

Threads: 139,546
Posts: 5,421,981
Members: 24,804
Currently online: 444
Newest member: comicstar100

TrekToday headlines

Retro Review: Tears of the Prophets
By: Michelle on Sep 12

New Wizkids Attack Wing Ships
By: T'Bonz on Sep 12

Coto Drama Sold To Fox
By: T'Bonz on Sep 12

Braga Inks Deal
By: T'Bonz on Sep 12

Remastered Original Series Re-release
By: T'Bonz on Sep 11

UK Trek Ships Calendar Debuts
By: T'Bonz on Sep 10

Quinto In The Slap
By: T'Bonz on Sep 9

Burton On Shatner’s Brown Bag Wine Tasting
By: T'Bonz on Sep 9

New Trek Trading Card Series
By: T'Bonz on Sep 8

New Red Shirt Diaries Episode
By: T'Bonz on Sep 8


Welcome! The Trek BBS is the number one place to chat about Star Trek with like-minded fans. Please login to see our full range of forums as well as the ability to send and receive private messages, track your favourite topics and of course join in the discussions.

If you are a new visitor, join us for free. If you are an existing member please login below. Note: for members who joined under our old messageboard system, please login with your display name not your login name.


Go Back   The Trek BBS > Entertainment & Interests > Science Fiction & Fantasy > Battlestar Galactica & Caprica

Battlestar Galactica & Caprica This forum was created by man. It rebelled. It evolved. And it has a plan.

 
 
Thread Tools
Old March 12 2009, 12:11 PM   #16
Cid Highwind
Fleet Captain
 
Location: Germany
Re: Did cavill move the colony to earth?

Yes - "Hey, it's Jupiter" was my first thought about that scene as well.
__________________
The Andorian Mining Consortium runs from no one!
-- Shran
Cid Highwind is offline  
Old March 12 2009, 12:26 PM   #17
CaptainHarlock
Lieutenant Commander
 
Re: Did cavill move the colony to earth?

* Screenshots. Maybe the sun is too bright to be our jupiter/sun.


CaptainHarlock is offline  
Old March 12 2009, 05:21 PM   #18
Apogeal Alpha01
Rear Admiral
 
Apogeal Alpha01's Avatar
 
Location: SoCal
Send a message via Yahoo to Apogeal Alpha01
Re: Did cavill move the colony to earth?

Myasishchev wrote: View Post
Apogeal Alpha01 wrote: View Post
Unlikely. Radiation levels were lethal to even Cylons.
That seemed odd, seeing as how they were plenty capable of walking around Caprica after the rain, and it had been days since the nuclear holocaust, as opposed to two thousand years.
You're right about that, it's a bit of a discordant plot hole. Perhaps we could think that there might have been a difference in the type of weapons used, dirtier, or more of them used on Earth. We know that there were many more survivors after the attack on Caprica - weeks and months later. If the Cylons had carpet bombed the planet, the blasts would have killed everyone, and risidual fallout would have killed the survivors in short order.

The story goes that there were only the five survivors of the Earth attack, and those five only because their consciousnesses were uploaded to a facility orbiting the planet. That speaks to a significantly different level of bombardment.
__________________
I'm a lucky guy, and I'm happy to be with the Yankees. And I want to thank everyone for making this night necessary. -- Yogi Berra at a dinner in his honor
Apogeal Alpha01 is offline  
Old March 12 2009, 05:29 PM   #19
Apogeal Alpha01
Rear Admiral
 
Apogeal Alpha01's Avatar
 
Location: SoCal
Send a message via Yahoo to Apogeal Alpha01
Re: Did cavill move the colony to earth?

Cid Highwind wrote: View Post
Yes - "Hey, it's Jupiter" was my first thought about that scene as well.
Our gas giants have rings, and, they're in the outer reaches of the solar system, too far from the sun to be these planets. Last I read, gas giants are a very common type of planet in the galaxy.
__________________
I'm a lucky guy, and I'm happy to be with the Yankees. And I want to thank everyone for making this night necessary. -- Yogi Berra at a dinner in his honor
Apogeal Alpha01 is offline  
Old March 12 2009, 05:33 PM   #20
biotech
Vice Admiral
 
biotech's Avatar
 
Location: Hull, Yorkshire, England
Re: Did cavill move the colony to earth?

When they were walking around on Caprica they were only an upload away from a new body, no need to worry about cancer when you have resurrection, its not an option for them now.
biotech is offline  
Old March 12 2009, 06:07 PM   #21
Cid Highwind
Fleet Captain
 
Location: Germany
Re: Did cavill move the colony to earth?

Apogeal Alpha01 wrote: View Post
Our gas giants have rings, and, they're in the outer reaches of the solar system, too far from the sun to be these planets. Last I read, gas giants are a very common type of planet in the galaxy.
Jupiter's ring system isn't very prominent - if that planet was meant to be Jupiter, depicting it without a visible ring system wouldn't really be a big error.

For the record, though: I'm not saying that this planet absolutely, positively has to be Jupiter... we've seen a Jupiter-like planet, and we've seen the Orion constellation several times now. Perhaps that planet was meant to be Jupiter, in the system they've already visited - perhaps it was Jupiter in a yet-unknown, neighbouring system - perhaps the CGI artists just like NASA's image database so much...
__________________
The Andorian Mining Consortium runs from no one!
-- Shran
Cid Highwind is offline  
Old March 12 2009, 06:41 PM   #22
biotech
Vice Admiral
 
biotech's Avatar
 
Location: Hull, Yorkshire, England
Re: Did cavill move the colony to earth?

If they really wanted it to be Jupiter it would have been easy enough to show the eye, or one of the more recognisable moons.
biotech is offline  
Old March 13 2009, 03:39 AM   #23
Apogeal Alpha01
Rear Admiral
 
Apogeal Alpha01's Avatar
 
Location: SoCal
Send a message via Yahoo to Apogeal Alpha01
Re: Did cavill move the colony to earth?

Yep. And, the sun would be tiny.
__________________
I'm a lucky guy, and I'm happy to be with the Yankees. And I want to thank everyone for making this night necessary. -- Yogi Berra at a dinner in his honor
Apogeal Alpha01 is offline  
Old March 13 2009, 04:41 AM   #24
Gregsmack
Captain
 
Gregsmack's Avatar
 
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Re: Did cavill move the colony to earth?

Everyone's an astronomer.
__________________
"Lay off the Greeks. They invented civilization."
Gregsmack is offline  
Old March 13 2009, 04:46 AM   #25
Hyperspace05
Commodore
 
Hyperspace05's Avatar
 
Re: Did cavill move the colony to earth?

That Gas giant was just one of the many stopping points on her journey... Remember her cursing the ship because it had an old jump drive that couldn't make the trip in one jump?
Hyperspace05 is offline  
Old March 14 2009, 02:39 AM   #26
Marc
Fleet Admiral
 
Location: An Aussie in Canukistan
Send a message via ICQ to Marc
Re: Did cavill move the colony to earth?

Myasishchev wrote: View Post
Apogeal Alpha01 wrote: View Post
Unlikely. Radiation levels were lethal to even Cylons.
That seemed odd, seeing as how they were plenty capable of walking around Caprica after the rain, and it had been days since the nuclear holocaust, as opposed to two thousand years.
Was it just general radiation that affected Loeben at @ Ragarok or was there something specific to it.

After all the Colonials didn't seem to have an issue (no radiation suits) or maybe it was just an issue with the log term exposure?

did it have an general effect on the Cylon or just his ability to download after Adama finished him off with the torch?
__________________
Gentlemen you can't fight in here - this is the war room.

Pres. Merkin P. Muffly
Marc is offline  
Old March 14 2009, 12:03 PM   #27
LLAP
Lieutenant Commander
 
LLAP's Avatar
 
Location: Sector 001
Re: Did cavill move the colony to earth?

CaptainHarlock wrote: View Post


biotech wrote: View Post
If they really wanted it to be Jupiter it would have been easy enough to show the eye, or one of the more recognisable moons.
But look there on the left, could be the Great Red Spot - which is, of course, unique to Jupiter.
__________________
Shatner's Bassoon:
Area within your brain that defines time perception. Can be affected by so called 'Made up drugs' such as 'Cake'; a Visterbile Amphetamoid from Prague.
LLAP is offline  
Old March 14 2009, 12:19 PM   #28
Myasishchev
Rear Admiral
 
Myasishchev's Avatar
 
Location: America after the rain
Re: Did cavill move the colony to earth?

Marc wrote: View Post
Myasishchev wrote: View Post
Apogeal Alpha01 wrote: View Post
Unlikely. Radiation levels were lethal to even Cylons.
That seemed odd, seeing as how they were plenty capable of walking around Caprica after the rain, and it had been days since the nuclear holocaust, as opposed to two thousand years.
Was it just general radiation that affected Loeben at @ Ragarok or was there something specific to it.

After all the Colonials didn't seem to have an issue (no radiation suits) or maybe it was just an issue with the log term exposure?

did it have an general effect on the Cylon or just his ability to download after Adama finished him off with the torch?
In retrospect I think Leoben might have just been lying. To what end, who knows?

Of course, after this last episode, I have to question the radiation on Earth even more, because the Cylons live inside the accretion disk of a black hole. I guess the Cylon Colony is a big lead box.
Myasishchev is offline  
Old March 14 2009, 07:02 PM   #29
Kchunda
Commander
 
Location: DFW-DC-ATL-NYC-DC
Re: Did cavill move the colony to earth?

At any rate, the colony's not on earth. . .
Kchunda is offline  
Old March 14 2009, 09:24 PM   #30
RoJoHen
Awesome
 
RoJoHen's Avatar
 
Location: QC, IL, USA
Re: Did cavill move the colony to earth?

Myasishchev wrote: View Post
Marc wrote: View Post
Myasishchev wrote: View Post
That seemed odd, seeing as how they were plenty capable of walking around Caprica after the rain, and it had been days since the nuclear holocaust, as opposed to two thousand years.
Was it just general radiation that affected Loeben at @ Ragarok or was there something specific to it.

After all the Colonials didn't seem to have an issue (no radiation suits) or maybe it was just an issue with the log term exposure?

did it have an general effect on the Cylon or just his ability to download after Adama finished him off with the torch?
In retrospect I think Leoben might have just been lying. To what end, who knows?
Leoben wasn't lying. The radiation affected Doral the same way at the end of the miniseries when he was left for dead on the station.

They didn't mention exactly what it was, just that "something" had an effect on the Cylons silica relays in their brain.
__________________
I am the Quintessential Admiral.
RoJoHen is offline  
 

Bookmarks

Tags
earth, jupiter

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:58 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
FireFox 2+ or Internet Explorer 7+ highly recommended.