RSS iconTwitter iconFacebook icon

The Trek BBS title image

The Trek BBS statistics

Threads: 141,361
Posts: 5,503,534
Members: 25,124
Currently online: 612
Newest member: traedoril

TrekToday headlines

New Abrams Project
By: T'Bonz on Dec 18

IDW Publishing March 2015 Comics
By: T'Bonz on Dec 17

Paramount Star Trek 3 Expectations
By: T'Bonz on Dec 17

Star Trek #39 Sneak Peek
By: T'Bonz on Dec 16

Star Trek 3 Potential Director Shortlist
By: T'Bonz on Dec 16

Official Starships Collection Update
By: T'Bonz on Dec 15

Retro Review: Prodigal Daughter
By: Michelle on Dec 13

Sindicate Lager To Debut In The US Next Week
By: T'Bonz on Dec 12

Rumor Mill: Saldana Gives Birth
By: T'Bonz on Dec 12

New Line of Anovos Enterprise Uniforms
By: T'Bonz on Dec 11


Welcome! The Trek BBS is the number one place to chat about Star Trek with like-minded fans. Please login to see our full range of forums as well as the ability to send and receive private messages, track your favourite topics and of course join in the discussions.

If you are a new visitor, join us for free. If you are an existing member please login below. Note: for members who joined under our old messageboard system, please login with your display name not your login name.


Go Back   The Trek BBS > Lounges & General Chat > Miscellaneous

Miscellaneous Discussion of non-Trek topics.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old February 7 2009, 02:17 AM   #1
doubleohfive
Fleet Admiral
 
doubleohfive's Avatar
 
Problem with Firefox

Hi everyone -- quick question to ask.

Firefox, for the last few days has been causing me some stress. Seems my address bar doesn't want to work. If I close out of a window and re-open it, the address bar vanishes entirely and the only way to get it back is if I go to View > Toolbars > Navigation Toolbar, or go to "Restore Default Settings."

Once in a while, I'd understand but as it has happened every single time, I'm quite annoyed.

Further, the address bar, when it is there, is almost useless. I have a few addresses saved in the history, but clicking them does nothing. Typing in addresses, likewise, does nothing. The only way to navigate is to click a link (wherein the link still does not appear in the address bar) or to type or paste the link in a google search.

Has anyone else had this problem? Is there a solution I'm missing? Or perhaps a root cause I haven't considered?

Much thanks in advance.
doubleohfive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7 2009, 02:54 AM   #2
Gertch
Admiral
 
Re: Problem with Firefox

I'm on 3.0.6 and use it at home and work without issue.

I've heard nothing on this but offer the standard advice: How about uninstalling Firefox, reboot and reinstall? You can export your bookmarks and import after the reinstall.
Gertch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7 2009, 03:04 AM   #3
LaxScrutiny
Commodore
 
Location: Toronto, Canada
Re: Problem with Firefox

doubleohfive wrote: View Post
Is there a solution I'm missing? Or perhaps a root cause I haven't considered?
Switch to IE 8.


Sorry, I just couldn't help myself.
LaxScrutiny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7 2009, 11:48 AM   #4
RJDonner&Blitzen
Idealistic Cynic and Canon Champion
 
RJDonner&Blitzen's Avatar
 
Location: RJDiogenes of Boston
Re: Problem with Firefox

Unless you've got some kind of spyware or something that's screwing it up, it's probably a corrupt DLL; I think a re-install should do the trick.
__________________
Please stop by my Gallery and YouTube Page for a visit. And read Trunkards! And check out my Heroes essays.
RJDonner&Blitzen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7 2009, 11:53 AM   #5
Kaziarl
Commodore
 
Kaziarl's Avatar
 
Location: Portland, OR (Kaziarl)
Re: Problem with Firefox

LaxScrutiny wrote: View Post
doubleohfive wrote: View Post
Is there a solution I'm missing? Or perhaps a root cause I haven't considered?
Switch to IE 8.


Sorry, I just couldn't help myself.
Thou art a blasphemer!!!

jk, but seriously, I refuse to use IE. I hear it's better then it used to be, but I guess I'm just stubborn.

Re-install it, that usually fixes everything.

If it is spyware, I suggest getting rid of norton.

Or atleast get spybot.

Sorry, norton is another program I don't like.
__________________
Guardian Force Updated with new content
Kaziarl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7 2009, 11:54 AM   #6
RJDonner&Blitzen
Idealistic Cynic and Canon Champion
 
RJDonner&Blitzen's Avatar
 
Location: RJDiogenes of Boston
Re: Problem with Firefox

IE is the same as WordPad; something to use if you don't have a real program.
__________________
Please stop by my Gallery and YouTube Page for a visit. And read Trunkards! And check out my Heroes essays.
RJDonner&Blitzen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7 2009, 02:13 PM   #7
Pingfah
Admiral
 
Pingfah's Avatar
 
Location: Pingfah
Re: Problem with Firefox

SInce this most recent update my Firefox crashes and freezes constantly on both my computers. And when I shut it down it keeps running a process and sucking up memory that has to be manually shut down.
__________________
So it goes.
Pingfah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7 2009, 02:50 PM   #8
Gertch
Admiral
 
Re: Problem with Firefox

Pingfah wrote: View Post
And when I shut it down it keeps running a process and sucking up memory that has to be manually shut down.
I have noticed that a couple of times now. You have to stop the process manually.
Gertch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7 2009, 05:36 PM   #9
CorporalClegg
Admiral
 
CorporalClegg's Avatar
 
Location: Land of Enchantment
Re: Problem with Firefox

Have you tried using another browser? There's a Trojan going around that, as I understand, cripples the browsers' search functions. But it effects all the browsers on the computer. And, as I recall, the symptoms are slightly different.

Unfortunately, I just read about it in passing when looking up something completely different, so I don't remember much about it and I just tried a quick Google and came up with nothing. But if it seems like it could be the potential problem (i.e. IE doesn't work.) then you should look into it.
__________________
Konnichi wa!
CorporalClegg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 8 2009, 04:18 AM   #10
doubleohfive
Fleet Admiral
 
doubleohfive's Avatar
 
Re: Problem with Firefox

I figured it out.

The AIMToolbar extension was fucking around with it. So I uninstalled it and restarted Firefox. Seems to have corrected / resolved the issue.

Thanks to all for their suggestions.
doubleohfive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8 2009, 07:07 AM   #11
Australis
Writer
 
Australis's Avatar
 
Location: The Electric Age
Re: Problem with Firefox

Gertch wrote: View Post
Pingfah wrote: View Post
And when I shut it down it keeps running a process and sucking up memory that has to be manually shut down.
I have noticed that a couple of times now. You have to stop the process manually.
Me too. I actually sometimes stop FF and switch to Opera for a couple of hours. When you look in Task Manager, the CPU is being maxed out and the memory is jumping up and down too. Can the FF process, and they drop to very much lower percentages.

I admit I have an older PC, but up until 3-4 months ago I didn't have this problem. I think it's safe to say that it's a recent upgrade that's brought this on.
__________________
"… Times change, and so must I… we all change. When you think about it, we are all different people, all through our lives and that’s okay, that’s good! You've gotta keep moving, so long as you remember all the people that you used to be."
Australis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8 2009, 07:12 AM   #12
Tim
Vice Admiral
 
Tim's Avatar
 
Location: Red Sox Nation
Re: Problem with Firefox

Australis wrote: View Post
Gertch wrote: View Post
Pingfah wrote: View Post
And when I shut it down it keeps running a process and sucking up memory that has to be manually shut down.
I have noticed that a couple of times now. You have to stop the process manually.
Me too. I actually sometimes stop FF and switch to Opera for a couple of hours. When you look in Task Manager, the CPU is being maxed out and the memory is jumping up and down too. Can the FF process, and they drop to very much lower percentages.
Are you running the ForecastFox extension? The current release (0.9.8) causes exactly this problem when it can't access weather data from accuweather.com. More here.
__________________
And I have seen the eternal Footman hold my coat, and snicker,
And in short, I was afraid.
Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8 2009, 07:38 AM   #13
Australis
Writer
 
Australis's Avatar
 
Location: The Electric Age
Re: Problem with Firefox

Good thought, but no, actually running very few extensions.

(has a look)

Actually, I think none, since I had to do a Windows reinstall. There only seems to be a couple of skin files in there, and I'm still using default. It says down the bottom of the About window:
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-GB; rv:1.9.0.6) Gecko/2009011913 Firefox/3.0.6
__________________
"… Times change, and so must I… we all change. When you think about it, we are all different people, all through our lives and that’s okay, that’s good! You've gotta keep moving, so long as you remember all the people that you used to be."
Australis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8 2009, 12:50 PM   #14
RJDonner&Blitzen
Idealistic Cynic and Canon Champion
 
RJDonner&Blitzen's Avatar
 
Location: RJDiogenes of Boston
Re: Problem with Firefox

I should have thought of a Toolbar. They have a tendency to screw things up.
__________________
Please stop by my Gallery and YouTube Page for a visit. And read Trunkards! And check out my Heroes essays.
RJDonner&Blitzen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9 2009, 02:54 PM   #15
Saul
Rear Admiral
 
Saul's Avatar
 
Location: 東京
Re: Problem with Firefox

Does anyone else have the problem of Firefox not letting them download adobe flash?
__________________
"It's not that you can see the strings, it's that 40 years later you're still looking at them." - Steven Moffat
"This movie was big. Imagine how big it could have been with me in it?" William Shatner
Saul is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
address bar, computer, firefox, troubleshooting

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:42 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
FireFox 2+ or Internet Explorer 7+ highly recommended.