View Single Post
Old May 16 2013, 11:23 PM   #8
sojourner
Admiral
 
sojourner's Avatar
 
Location: I'm at WKRP
Re: Recommended Smart Action/Sci-Fi Novels

Admiral2 wrote: View Post
Mysterion wrote: View Post
The first three books of the Honor Harrington series by David Weber have some good action scenes in them: On Basilisk Station, The Honor of the Queen, and A Short Victorious War.
What was wrong with Field of Dishonor and Flag In Exile? (Flag in Exile's my personal favorite...)
The character descended into Mary Sue levels of self parody.

In the vein of The Forever War and Starship Troopers you could also add Steakley's Armor.

A very good example of smart action with a cinematic flare is Daniel Keyes Moran's The Longrun. Not sure if it's in print currently. I loved the protagonist in that book. He was always one step ahead.
__________________
Baby, you and me were never meant to be, just maybe think of me once in a while...
sojourner is online now   Reply With Quote