View Single Post
Old February 13 2013, 04:40 PM   #53
rhubarbodendron's Avatar
Location: milky way, outer spiral arm, Sol 3
Re: Help name the moons of Pluto

good point. I think it's because we grew up with the (then) fact that the solar system consists of 9 Planets: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptun and Pluto (and their respective satellites plus an asteroid belt).
It's a bit like someone would abolish the number 5 - we'd still automatically count 1,2,3,4,5 instead of 1,2,3,4,6.
a hug a day keeps the psychiatrist away
rhubarbodendron is offline   Reply With Quote