The Abominable Dr. Horrible wrote:
I watched the play several times, I can't fathom how that was an Infield Fly when it was halfway out into the outfield. It was a fly ball to the outfield, the outfielder should have caught it. I could understand a few steps into the outfield being an Infield Fly Rule, but not that.
I was an umpire (softball, but the rule's the same) for seven years and there's no way I'd call an infield fly on that play.
That's a problem with the one game playoff- one bad call can have such huge ramifications.