View Single Post
Old September 25 2012, 05:35 AM   #219
IndyJones
Vice Admiral
 
IndyJones's Avatar
 
Location: Chicago
Re: NFL 2012 - Drive to Glory

InklingStar wrote: View Post
What a game, what an ending. Both the Packers and the Seahawks were on the receiving end of some lousy calls. Golden Tate's catch in the endzone was legit, since the tie goes to the receiver.
Um, no.

Here's the rule:

NFL Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3

If a pass is caught simultaneously by two eligible opponents, and both players retain it, the ball belongs to the passers. It is not a simultaneous catch if a player gains control first and an
opponent subsequently gains joint control.
Jennings caught the ball two handed and pulled it to his chest. Tate had one arm in there initially, and a second after they fell to the ground. The only person I've seen call that a simultaneous catch tonight is the replacement ref. Now, obviously his was the only vote that mattered...but it *was* wrong.



You'll notice in the second photo that Tate's basically just hugging Jennings. It's very sweet, but it's not like any touchdown I've seen.

__________________
Travel's fatal to prejudice, bigotry, narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things can't be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one's life.

Last edited by IndyJones; September 25 2012 at 05:45 AM.
IndyJones is offline