View Single Post
Old September 11 2012, 01:18 AM   #12
JD's Avatar
Location: Arizona, USA
Re: The Sorrows of Empire-Standalone?

JD wrote: View Post
Christopher wrote: View Post

The other key works under the Mirror Universe banner and continuity are the anthologies Glass Empires and Obsidian Alliances (with three short novels each, the first one including the original, shorter version of Sorrows), the short-story anthology Shards and Shadows (which I have a story in), and the novel Rise Like Lions by David Mack, which brings the whole saga to a conclusion. The Deep Space Nine novels Olympus Descending, Warpath, Fearful Symmetry, and The Soul Key contain a Mirror Universe arc that feeds into Rise Like Lions, but as always, the different subseries are designed to be comprehensible on their own and the interconnections are just a bonus.
I just want to point out that Olympus Descending is one of two stories (both of which are tied into the Mirror Universe arc) in Worlds of DS9 Vol. 3.
lvsxy808 wrote: View Post
^^^ What? In what way is Satisfaction Is Not Guaranteed connected to the MU arc?

Perhaps you meant Fragments and Omens, which is actually in Vol 2, not 3. But for the OP's purposes, the connection to the MU arc in either is tangential at best and definitely not required for The Sorrows of Empire.

You're right. I was thinking Satisfaction is Not Guaranteed was in Vol. 2 and Fragments & Omens was in Vol. 3.
They say a little knowledge is a dangerous thing, but it is not one half so bad as a lot of ignorance. - Terry Pratchett, Equal Rites
JD is offline   Reply With Quote