View Single Post
Old September 9 2012, 06:07 PM   #2
Christopher's Avatar
Re: The Sorrows of Empire-Standalone?

There are other books and short stories in the Mirror Universe sequence, but you can certainly read Sorrows and get a complete self-contained story.

The other key works under the Mirror Universe banner and continuity are the anthologies Glass Empires and Obsidian Alliances (with three short novels each, the first one including the original, shorter version of Sorrows), the short-story anthology Shards and Shadows (which I have a story in), and the novel Rise Like Lions by David Mack, which brings the whole saga to a conclusion. The Deep Space Nine novels Olympus Descending, Warpath, Fearful Symmetry, and The Soul Key contain a Mirror Universe arc that feeds into Rise Like Lions, but as always, the different subseries are designed to be comprehensible on their own and the interconnections are just a bonus.

There are various other MU tales that have been published over the years, including TNG: Dark Mirror and the Dark Passions duology, but they're in different continuities from the sequence mentioned above.
Written Worlds -- Christopher L. Bennett's blog and webpage
Christopher is offline   Reply With Quote