View Single Post
Old December 15 2011, 02:42 AM   #4
Christopher's Avatar
Re: How have the newer novels affected the reading order?

You don't have to read the books in separate series in strict chronological order, since they're usually pretty independent of each other. As long as you read the installments of each distinct series in the order they were published, you're probably fine.

For what it's worth, though:

Typhon Pact: Rough Beasts of Empire begins just after Destiny and spans the next year, February 2381-Feb. '82. DTI: Watching the Clock covers roughly the same span of time (though it begins in March), not counting its flashbacks. The majority of WTC and the second half of RBoE pretty much fall after Synthesis. Then comes the rest of the Typhon Pact series: Zero Sum Game (Apr-Aug '82), Seize the Fire (Aug '82), Paths of Disharmony (roughly Sep-Oct '82), and The Struggle Within (Nov-Dec '82), then Indistinguishable from Magic (Jan-Apr '83).
Christopher L. Bennett Homepage -- Site update 4/8/14 including annotations for Rise of the Federation: Tower of Babel

Written Worlds -- My blog
Christopher is offline   Reply With Quote