The Trek BBS

The Trek BBS (http://www.trekbbs.com/index.php)
-   Science and Technology (http://www.trekbbs.com/forumdisplay.php?f=36)
-   -   iOS 7 (http://www.trekbbs.com/showthread.php?t=226489)

Captrek September 20 2013 09:22 PM

iOS 7

First impressions of the new iOS?

Personally I'm finding it less attractive and less intuitive than its predecessor. I miss Steve. :(

Metryq September 20 2013 10:51 PM

Re: iOS 7

I like it. Dumping skeuomorphic design was a good idea. Some interface designers were already leaning that way. For example, some video switcher software tries to look like a real control surface, with the shading and lighting effects of those plastic buttons. That compromises the legibility. Blackmagic Design's software interface, for example, is very clean and looks much like iOS 7.

The swipe upward control center is a plus—I like it better than the Home button double-tap. I'm still learning the new gestures and features. The "zooming" effects might be a bit too spectacular—zipping in an out of apps and folders. Wear a seatbelt.

RoJoHen September 21 2013 12:38 AM

Eh, aside from a few design aspects that I don't like (namely the color scheme for text messaging), it's fine. I don't really notice a huge difference in the way that it works.

Chemahkuu September 21 2013 12:46 AM

I like it, I've already got the hang of most of it on my iphone and ipod, looks and performs better than 6 to me.

Tom Hendricks September 21 2013 02:42 AM

I voted Step in Right Direction. While I like a majority of it, there are several changes I genuinely hate. The biggest is the change in the calendar, which I use a lot.

Mr. Laser Beam September 21 2013 03:16 AM

I like iOS7 a lot. Love the no-frills design.

Venardhi September 21 2013 03:28 AM