The Trek BBS

The Trek BBS (http://www.trekbbs.com/index.php)
-   TV & Media (http://www.trekbbs.com/forumdisplay.php?f=28)
-   -   anyone here have a cinema degree? (http://www.trekbbs.com/showthread.php?t=202399)

MadaBidyoni February 4 2013 12:31 AM

anyone here have a cinema degree?

Hi
someone here learned from giannetti's book "understanding movies"?
putting his citizen kane chapter aside, do you have a film that could demonstrate all the terms from the book? (preferably "the godfather" and/or "annie hall". preferably if you could demonstrate all the terms in 1-2 sequences from the films).
that could help a lot
thanks

Foxhot February 4 2013 02:45 AM

Re: anyone here have a cinema degree?

This is a book I'm 95 percent certain I read in college.......26 years ago. If it's the book I think it is, it had----and may still have-----a section on TOUCH OF EVIL. I majored in English and minored in RTVF. While I learned a hell of a lot from my film courses, I won't pretend to remember all of Giamatti's terms in his book. But I'll bet he mentioned mise-en-scene as well as assorted approaches to film shooting, narrative and techniques involved for specific classic films. If you want to list some of the terms your edition has, I could most likely apply them to THE GODFATHER......

......though it's worth noting other films, whether drama or escapism, can probably be adapted to Giamatti's terms.

MadaBidyoni February 4 2013 05:56 PM

he has examples there... but from a lot of films
i need a film, or better - a scene from a film that include all or most of the terms :)

Professor Zoom February 4 2013 09:49 PM

Quote:

MadaBidyoni wrote: (Post 7638010)
i need a film, or better - a scene from a film that include all or most of the terms :)

Are you asking people to do your homework? ;)

od0_ital February 4 2013 10:32 PM

Quote:

Professor Zoom wrote: (Post 7639063)
Quote:

MadaBidyoni wrote: (Post 7638010)

Are you asking people to do your homework? ;)

Sounds like it...