The Trek BBS

The Trek BBS (http://www.trekbbs.com/index.php)
-   Science Fiction & Fantasy (http://www.trekbbs.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   The Law Returns. This Time With His Helmet On! Judge Dredd! (http://www.trekbbs.com/showthread.php?t=126988)

Admiral_Young August 13 2010 09:27 PM

The Law Returns. This Time With His Helmet On! Judge Dredd!

Karl Urban is now confirmed as the new "Judge Dredd" which starts shooting later this year for a planned 2012 release. I'm kind of excited about this. Bones is now the law!

http://www.comingsoon.net/news/movienews.php?id=68774

Hanukkah Solo August 13 2010 09:35 PM

Re: The Law Returns. This Time With His Helmet On! Judge Dredd!

Damn it, Jim, I'm a doctor! Not judge, jury, and executioner!

Admiral_Young August 13 2010 09:38 PM

Bones You Are the Law!!!

Christopher August 13 2010 10:37 PM

Quote:

Skywalker wrote: (Post 4315232)
Damn it, Jim, I'm a doctor! Not judge, jury, and executioner!

:lol:

Come to think of it, it's hard to imagine two more diametrically opposed characters.

...Well, almost. I just remembered that Urban's two characters in the Hercules/Xena universe were Julius Caesar (a particularly evil version) and Cupid. So he has some experience playing polar opposites.

If they have him go the whole movie without ever taking off the helmet and showing his famous mug, that's a daring choice. I still think the Stallone movie could've made the helmet's removal work in a way that was truer to the character, if he'd been stripped of the helmet by force upon his arrest and was striving to get it (and his "good" name) back.

Reverend August 13 2010 11:44 PM

^ The helmet coming off was the least of the Stallone movie's problems! :p

I'm encouraged by the way this new Dredd flick up so far. From most reports the appear intent on staying true to the cyberpunk/tech-noir/police procedural drama mix the more recent strips have been using.