The Trek BBS

The Trek BBS (http://www.trekbbs.com/index.php)
-   The Next Generation (http://www.trekbbs.com/forumdisplay.php?f=39)
-   -   Guy in Gown (http://www.trekbbs.com/showthread.php?t=118590)

Charles Tucker April 9 2010 05:37 AM

Guy in Gown

Hello,
I am rather new to Star Trek but I have to say I am quite an avid fan. I have recently started watching The Next Generation and I have noticed in the first season there is a man who walks around in a Starfleet gown. I was curious as to why and what purpose this serves. I have included a picture. This is a screenshot from episode 11001001.

http://i40.tinypic.com/6r4x9e.png

Thank you very much for any light you can shine on the subject. Speculations are completely welcome.

Trip :vulcan:

Withers April 9 2010 06:00 AM

Re: Guy in Gown

From Memory Alpha...

http://memory-alpha.org/en/wiki/Star...2350s-2360s%29

Quote:

The uniform was used primarily by background actors, though "Encounter at Farpoint" featured both Deanna Troi and Natasha Yar in skant-type uniforms, the latter only briefly. While Troi got a new look entirely for subsequent episodes (according to the Star Trek: The Next Generation Companion the uniform was referred to as the "Space Cheerleader" look), Yar remained in her jumpsuit uniform for the rest of her stay aboard the Enterprise, never donning the skant after the pilot episode. Male crewmembers wearing the skant were only seen in few episodes, "Encounter at Farpoint", "Haven", "Conspiracy", "Where No One Has Gone Before" and "11001001", though the footage seen in the last episode was re-used from "Where No One Has Gone Before". The skant was only seen in the first season and appeared four times in the second season, worn with black trousers underneath. After that it reappeared only once, in the flashbacks during "All Good Things...